In recognition of their outstanding contribution to national and international research across a range of disciplines, five University of Cape Town (UCT) researchers have been added to the National Research Foundation’s (NRF) list of A-rated scholars.

The NRF rating system is a key driver in the foundation’s aim to build a globally competitive science system in South Africa. It is used as a tool for benchmarking the quality of researchers in the country against the best in the world. NRF ratings are allocated based on a scholar’s recent research outputs and its impact as perceived by both national and international peer reviewers.

Noteworthy achievements

The following categories make up the NRF’s rating system.

  • A – leading international researchers
  • B – internationally acclaimed researchers
  • C – established researchers
  • P – prestigious awards
  • Y – promising young researchers

This year Professor Linda-Gail Bekker from the Faculty of Health Sciences and Professors Tommie Meyer and Timothy Egan from the Faculty of Science improved their ratings to an A. Emeritus Professor Dirk van Zyl Smit from the Faculty of Law also achieved a new A rating.

Several researchers retained their A ratings: Professor Valerie Mizrahi from the Faculty of Health Sciences, Emeritus Professor Gerald Nurick from the Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment, Professor Anusuya Chinsamy-Turan from the Faculty of Science and Emeritus Professor David Chidester’s from the Faculty of Humanities.

This brings the total number of A-rated researchers at UCT to 31, the highest of any university in South Africa.